Choose Life and Be Grateful


This morning I woke up feeling ungrateful. Today is our daughter’s 35th birthday and the 6th one that we won’t celebrate together. Death is a robber.

I had a conversation with God that went a little like this- 

(While pouring coffee grounds) “It’s Bethany’s birthday and I should be drinking coffee with her.” 

(While frothing my milk) “the expiration date on this milk is May 9th, the day she died. Well, that is just perfect!”

(Sipping my coffee) “Well here’s to one more year on this side of Heaven without her. This isn’t right!”

And then the grumbling got serious but in the midst of my words, I heard a voice, “Choose Life, Be Grateful”. 

“Wait a minute, Lord! I was just getting started! I have a lot more to say. I’m just getting wound up!” 

It took a few minutes to move from my list of “It’s not fair that …” to a sense of gratitude. God reminded me that I had so much for which to be grateful and some of them were right in front of my face. So I picked up my phone and took a picture of things right in front of my face!  

Right in front of my face

Instead of my typical gratitude list, I looked at the items in this picture. It started off a little rough but gradually got better.

  • A teal footstool from Target that hides junk… how is this helping me?
  • A fake fireplace because I don’t have a real one… Ok I really do like that little thing.
  • Wooden blinds left from my predecessor who lived and worked in this amazing place before I did … Ellen thank you for these and the other gifts you left!
  • The corner cupboard that my grandfather made… The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places. Indeed I have a beautiful inheritance. Psalm 16
  • The wooden church pew on my front porch (from my dad’s first church) that I can just barely see in this picture… Oh God those years in Gloucester City were so formative and you gave us deep friendships for life!
  • My new faux fur blanket that reminds me of my friend of 56 years and our new yearly get away tradition… Thank you God for surrounding me with friends who walk through the difficult and beautiful times.
  • The willow twigs with a string of Christmas lights on my front porch… Thank you for those twigs that decorated the reception hall at Bethany and Randy’s wedding. What a glorious day!
  • The plant that was given to us at Bethany’s funeral… a visual reminder that life continues after death.                           
  • The yellow Life mug… I just placed that there yesterday. It has Noah’s baby foot prints on the back and it represents so much of Bethany’s story… Her son… her work in Crisis pregnancy centers… her calling…  her husband…  God’s tender care for him and their children…  my new daughter, his new wife…  the children’s new mom…  God’s provision…  an answer to our groaning in prayer…  family… Life… life after death… Heaven!

WAIT A MINUTE! I just chose life and was grateful!

Happy birthday, Bethany. May the thought of your birth, your life, your death and your life after death always bring me to gratitude…eventually.

Take a picture today of the things right in front of your face and make a gratitude list. It may just change your perspective. 

One thought on “Choose Life and Be Grateful

Leave a comment